Sheridan College student Kaycen Townsend, a health sciences major from Sheridan, was recently selected as Wyoming’s 2018 New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar. 

More than 2,000 students were nominated from more than 1,600 college campuses across the country, and only one New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar is selected from each state.  Townsend is the fifth Wyoming New Century Pathway Scholar in the last six years from the Northern Wyoming Community College District, which includes Sheridan College and Gillette College.

“I have received a great education and have grown a lot as a person while I’ve been a student at Sheridan College.”
New Century Transfer Pathway Scholars are selected based on their academic accomplishments, leadership, activities, and how they extend their intellectual talents beyond the classroom.  The program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Phi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges (“AACC”).  Townsend will receive a $2,250 scholarship and be recognized at Phi Theta Kappa’s President’s Breakfast in Dallas, Texas, on April 30th — during the AACC Convention.

Townsend is a volleyball student athlete who maintains a 4.0 GPA at Sheridan College.  She is President of the National Society of Leadership and Success and also volunteers with Big Brothers Big Sisters of America, and other community organizations.  She will graduate with her Associate of Science in Health Science this spring, and plans to continue to pursue her Associate Degree in Nursing at Sheridan College.  She will begin courses toward her bachelor’s degree concurrently through the Sheridan College partnership with the University of Wyoming.  Eventually, Townsend wants to become a nurse practitioner.

“I’m honored to receive this award and have the opportunity to represent Sheridan College at the convention in Texas,” said Townsend.

“I have received a great education and have grown a lot as a person while I’ve been a student at Sheridan College.” – Townsend

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of community college students to grow as scholars and leaders.  The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations.  Learn more about Phi Theta Kappa at 

By: Claire Barnes for Sheridan College
Republished with permission by 82801

Source: Northern Wyoming Community College District (NWCCD) is a multi-campus community college serving Sheridan, Campbell, and Johnson Counties.

Leave a comment